Celebrating our student-athletes in Royal fashion

By Sean Velasco, Athletics, Recreation and Sports Institute

On May 6, the Douglas College Royals hosted their annual awards banquet celebrating the achievements of the student-athletes during the past year. The celebration was conducted virtually and streamed live via the Royals’ social channels.

Despite the cancelling of the sports season due to the pandemic, there was much to celebrate as each team recognized the outstanding contributions of their student-athlete leaders for team culture and academics.

Donor awards were also distributed to student-athletes who met the academic and sports qualifications.

The event also included a special presentation and recognition of service for Sport Science Faculty Emeritus and the first Douglas College Athletics Director, Gert van Niekerk. Gert dedicated 45+ years of service to Douglas as an instructor, coach and administrator.

Watch the full banquet livestream.

Read more: Setting up a career: How one former Douglas College Royals found success as a coach

Donor Award Winners

Andy and Helen Andrews Memorial Award:
Matt Shand, Men’s Volleyball
Olivia Cesaretti, Women’s Volleyball

Baseball Coaches Association of BC Scholarship:
Logan Newman, Baseball
Otis Pritchett, Baseball

Centaur Products Sports Award of Distinction:
Ben Shand, MVB
Karalee Antoine, Women’s Basketball

Coach Frick and Rick Hansen Difference Maker Award of Distinction:
Hannah dela Cruz, Women’s Soccer
Jennifer Nyce, Women’s Basketball

Dave Seaweed Award of Distinction:
Logan Richter, Women’s Volleyball
Madison Fowler, Softball

David Munro Basketball Award of Distinction:
Kayla Ogilvie, Women’s Basketball
Ben Rabel, Men’s Basketball

Gord Ellis Memorial Scholarship:
Sean Sasaki, Baseball
Nolan MacDonald, Baseball

Jesse Penner Memorial Award of Distinction:
Blake Nelson, Baseball
Matthew O’Reilly, Baseball
Cameron Dunn, Baseball
Nolan MacDonald, Baseball

Katy Cole-McGilligan Men’s Basketball Award of Distinction:
Taylor Smith, Men’s Basketball

Margaret Mason Women’s Basketball Award of Distinction:
Sasha Salmon, Women’s Basketball

Margaret Mason Women’s Basketball Award of Distinction:
Chantelle Zinger, Women’s Basketball

Nicki Kerr Service Award:
Shelbi Snodgrass, MPC

Our All, Our Honour Award of Distinction Supported by Vancouver Whitecaps FC:
Kya Cleto, Women’s Soccer

Peter & Kathleen Kerr Memorial Award of Distinction:
Sarah Svetic, Women’s Soccer
Ben Bergeron, Men’s Soccer

Relive the banquet

Gert van Niekerk presentation

A special presentation was made to Gert van Niekerk for his 45+ years of service to Douglas as an instructor, coach and administrator.

Donor Awards​

Watch the recipients of the Donor Awards.
%d bloggers like this: